I am Hava: A Song’s Story of Love, Hope & Joy

I am Hava: A Song's Story of Love, Hope & Joy

Freda Lewkowicz and Siona Benjamin (Illustrator), ‎ Intergalactic Afikoman,, 11/02/2021

The story of the world\x27s most famous Jewish song… as told by the song herself!

Matzo Ball-Wonton Thanksgiving

Matzo Ball-Wonton Thanksgiving

Amelie Suskind Liu and Leslie Lweinter_Suskind, Amelie Suskind Liu, 11/01/2021

Matzo-Ball Wonton Thanksgiving is inspired by author Amelie Liu's experience growing up as a Chinese-Jewish girl. In honor of her late father, Donald Liu, all proceeds from the sale of the book will be donated to the National Alliance for Children's Grief, a nonprofit organization that focuses on supporting bereaved children and raising awareness about children's grief.

Pumpkin Pie for Sigd: A Holiday Tale

Pumpkin Pie for Sigd: A Holiday Tale

Tzivia Macleod and Denise Damanti (Illustrator), Apples & Honey Press, 08/01/2021

Maddie has just moved to Israel and is excited to celebrate the Ethiopian Jewish holiday of Sigd with her new friend Orly. But what about her own favorite fall holiday, Thanksgiving? Will Maddie be able to celebrate it in her new country? She's determined to find out! Illustrated by Denise Damanti.

Chunky

Chunky

Yehudi Mercado and Yehudi Mercado (Illustrator), Katherine Tegen Books, 9780062972781, 208pp., 06/22/2021

In this full-color middle-grade graphic memoir for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Jerry Craft, Yehudi Mercado draws inspiration from his childhood struggle with his weight while finding friendship with his imaginary mascot, Chunky, as he navigates growing up in a working-class Mexican-Jewish family.

Let’s Talk About Race

Let's Talk About Race

Julius Lester (author) and Karen Barbour (illustrator), 04/23/2020

In this acclaimed book, Julius Lester shares his own story as he explores what makes each of us special.

Nappy Hair

Nappy Hair

Carolivia Herron (author) and Joe Cepeda (illustrator), 01/01/1997

A lively, empowering story about Brenda's knotted-up, twisted, nappy hair and how it got to be that way!

I am The Tree of Life: My Jewish Yoga Book

I am The Tree of Life: My Jewish Yoga Book

Mychal Copland and Andre Coelin, Apples & Honey Press, 04/01/2020

The Torah is called the Tree of Life. Just as a tree is always growing and changing, the Torah's ideas can help us grow and change, too. Yoda can do the same. Both can help us strengthen ourselves, calm our minds, and learn to appreciate the world around us.

Buen Shabat, Shabbat Shalom

Buen Shabat, Shabbat Shalom

Sarah Aroeste and Ayesha L. Rubio, Kar-Ben Publishing, 03/03/2020

With a Ladino word introduced on each page, a Sephardic Jewish family prepares to celebrate Shabbat.

The Big Buna Bash: One Little Girl’s Story About Being Different and the Ethiopian Coffee Ceremony

The Big Buna Bash: One Little Girl's Story About Being Different and the Ethiopian Coffee Ceremony

Sara C Arnold and Roberta Malasomma (Illustrator), Brandylane Publishers, Inc., 02/05/2020

When Almaz makes a mistake in school, she's really embarrassed! Other kids tease her because they don't understand her Ethiopian culture. How can she use her family's traditions to make friends? She needs to host a BIG BUNA BASH!